Commonwealth Distance Learning Masters Scholarships 2024/2025

Spread the love

Applications are now open for the 2024/2025 Commonwealth Distance Learning Masters Scholarships. The Commonwealth Distance Learning programme is one of three Master’s programmes offered by the Commonwealth Scholarships Commission.

The Commonwealth Scholarship Commission in the UK (CSC) provides the UK government scholarship scheme led by international development objectives. It operates within the framework of the Commonwealth Scholarship and Fellowship plan (CSFP) and offers a vivid demonstration of the UK’s enduring commitment to the Commonwealth. By attracting individuals with outstanding talent and identifiable potential from all backgrounds and supporting them to become leaders and innovators on returning to their home countries, the CSC’s work combines sustainable development with the UK national interest and provides opportunities for international partnerships and collaboration.

Purpose:  Funded by the UK Foreign, Commonwealth & Development Office (FCDO), Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships enable talented and motivated individuals to access training and skills required for sustainable development not available in their home countries.


To be eligible for a Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarship, applicants should:

  • Be a citizen of or have been granted refugee status by an eligible Commonwealth country, or be a British Protected Person.
  • Be permanently resident in a developing Commonwealth country.
  • Hold a first degree of at least upper second class (2:1) standard. A lower qualification and sufficient relevant experience may be considered in certain cases.
  • Be unable to afford to study the programme without this scholarship.

Eligible countries

Please see list of eligible countries below as stated in the DAC list published in January 2022.

Bangladesh, Belize, Botswana, Cameroon, Dominica, Eswatini, Fiji, Gabon, Ghana, Grenada, Guyana, India, Jamaica,Kenya, Kiribati, Lesotho, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Mauritius, Montserrat, Mozambique, Namibia, Nauru, Nigeria,Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Rwanda, Saint Helena, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Tanzania, The Gambia, Togo, Tonga, Tuvalu, Uganda, Vanuatu, Zambia


  • A Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarship covers tuition fees and study grants where required. Other scholarships, awards, or bursaries that cover the same costs may not be held concurrently.

Selection process

Each participating UK university will conduct its own recruitment process to select a specified number of applicants for Distance Learning Scholarships. Universities must put forward their selected applicants to the CSC in early May 2024. The CSC will then confirm that these applicants meet the eligibility criteria for this scheme and universities will inform applicants of their results in July 2024. 

Selection criteria include:

  • Academic merit of the applicant
  • Potential impact of the work on the development of the applicant’s home country

Choosing a university/course

A list of eligible courses for 2024 can be found on the how to apply tab, sorted by CSC development theme.

Candidate’s may find the following resources useful when researching their choices of institution:

  • Study UK – British Council website, with guidance for international students and a course and institution search
  • – information for postgraduate students, with a course search
  • Research Excellent Framework 2021 results – results of a system for assessing the quality of research in UK higher education institutions
  • UCAS Postgraduate – guidance on how to find and apply for a postgraduate course
  • Unistats – the official website for comparing UK higher education course data
  • UKCISA (UK Council for International Student Affairs) – advice for international students on choosing a course of study

How to apply

Applications for Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships for the 2024/25 academic year are now open. The deadline for submitting an application is 16:00 GMT on Thursday 28 March 2024. The scholarships are for study beginning in September/October 2024. 

Applications to the CSC must be made using the CSC’s online application system

The CSC is unable to accept any applications or documentation not submitted via the online application system. 

Applicants must apply and secure admission to study an approved Master’s course at a participating UK university in addition to applying for a Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarship via the CSC’s online application system. 

For more opportunities such as this please follow us on Facebook, Instagram, What’s App, TwitterLinkedIn and Telegram

Related Articles

Back to top button