Commonwealth Fellowships Programme 2023 I Apply!

Apply for The Commonwealth Scholarship and Fellowship Plan (CSFP)-Fully Funded

Spread the love

Apply for The Commonwealth Scholarship and Fellowship Plan (CSFP)-Fully Funded

  • DEADLINE: August 16, 2023
  • TIME LEFT: 1 D
  • REGION: Commonwealth Countries

The Commonwealth Scholarship and Fellowship Plan (CSFP) is a unique international framework through which Commonwealth countries offer university scholarships and fellowships to citizens of other member nations, forging lasting links across, the Commonwealth and creating valuable opportunities for cultural and academic exchange.

The CSC supports over 800 awards annually. Awards are funded by the Department for International Development (for developing Commonwealth countries), the Foreign and Commonwealth Office, the Department for Business, Innovation, and Skills, and the Scottish Government (for developed Commonwealth countries), in conjunction with UK universities. The CSC also nominates UK citizens for scholarships to study in other Commonwealth countries under the CSFP.

Since its founding in 1959, the CSFP has created life-changing educational opportunities for more than 38,000 individuals. Many have gone on to transform their communities, societies, and nations, helping to create a fairer, safer, healthier, and more connected Commonwealth.

Commonwealth Scholarships are funded in two ways:

  1. By individual governments and universities, for study within those countries or institutions
  2. By the CSFP endowment fund – a central fund owned by and for Commonwealth governments that supports Queen Elizabeth Commonwealth Scholarships for students from all over the Commonwealth to study at universities in low and middle-income countries.

Commonwealth Gender and Sexuality Fellowships are for mid-career professionals from low and middle-income Commonwealth countries to spend a period at a UK host organization working in their sector for a program of professional development.

Purpose: To provide professionals with the opportunity to enhance knowledge and skills in their given sector, and to have catalytic effects on their workplaces.

Beneficiaries: Mid-career professionals (with five years relevant work experience) working in development-related organizations in low and middle-income Commonwealth countries


 Commonwealth Countries


  • Approved return airfare from the Fellow’s home country to the UK
  • Reimbursement of the standard visa application fee
  • Stipend (living allowance) payable monthly (or pro rata) for the duration of the award at the rate of £1,944 per month, or £2,397 per month for those at organizations in the London metropolitan area (rates quoted at 2021/22 levels)
  • If a Fellow declares a disability, a full assessment of needs and eligibility for additional financial support will be offered by the CSC. See the CSC disability support statement for more information
  • Arrival allowance of up to £1,061.10 (rates quoted at 2021/22 levels), including an element for warm clothing
  • For the Gender and Sexuality program a £1,000 travel allowance per fellow to facilitate attendance at events (administered by host organizations)
  • A maximum of £3,000 per fellow can be agreed by host organizations for short courses/conferences as well as travel to visit other UK organizations where this forms an integral part of the program. Host organizations should bear in mind the restrictions set out in our guidance on claimable costs.


To be eligible for these Fellowships, prospective Fellows must:

  • Be a citizen of, or have been granted refugee status by, an eligible Commonwealth country, or be a British Protected Person
  • Be permanently resident in an eligible Commonwealth country
  • Have at least five years full-time, or equivalent part-time, relevant work experience, in a profession related to the subject of the fellowship programme, by the proposed start of the fellowship – voluntary work experience will not be counted towards this minimum
  • Be in employment at the time of application at an organisation that they will return to upon completion of the fellowship
  • Provide at least two references, one of which must be from their current employer. Any applications for which references are not received by the reference closing date will be considered ineligible.
  • Not have undertaken a Commonwealth Professional Fellowship within the last five years (at the time of taking up the award)
  • Not be seeking to undertake an academic programme of research or study. Academics are eligible to apply for the scheme, but only to undertake programmes of academic management, not research or courses relevant to their research subject
  •  Be available to undertake their fellowship within the full duration of the prescribed dates
  • In addition to the above, prospective fellows must ensure they meet any eligibility criteria set out by each host organisation.
  • The CSC aims to identify talented individuals who have the potential to make change. We are committed to a policy of equal opportunity and non-discrimination and encourage applications from a diverse range of candidates. For further information on the support available to fellows with a disability, see the CSC disability support statement.

Eligible Regions: Bangladesh, Belize, Botswana, Cameroon, Dominica, Eswatini, Fiji, Gabon, The Gambia, Ghana, Grenada, Guyana, India, Jamaica, Kenya, Kiribati, Lesotho, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Mauritius, Montserrat, Mozambique, Namibia, Nauru, Nigeria, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Rwanda, St Helena, St Lucia, St Vincent and The Grenadines, Samoa, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Tanzania, Togo, Tonga, Tuvalu, Uganda, Vanuatu, Zambia


  • Applicants can apply by completing the online application form.
  • To apply participants must click to the ‘Completing application form’ tab to access the application form.

Application Deadline: August 16, 2023 (1 Day Remaining)


Related Articles

Back to top button